2nd CFSL Online Women Team Chess Championships 2022

Passed Pawn Chess Club is the Champion

The passed Pawn Chess Club consists of WIM Sachini Ranasinghe (Captain), WIM Nelunika Metmani, WIM from India B Shri Savitha, WFM Dasuni Hansika Mendis and WCM Sanudula Dahamdi won the Championship of the 2nd CFSL Online Women Team Chess Championships 2022 convincingly. They crushed their opponents, the Mayor’s Chess Club without an effort 3 ½ to ½ in both rounds. CM Sanudula Dhamdi repeatedly beat the Indian WIM Mishella Catherine in both rounds while Sachini Ranasinghe and WIM from India had no resistance from their opponents and got both points for their team. Dasuni Hansika Mendis drew the both games with HMMD Hearath.

Mayor’s Chess Club with Kaveesha Indrajith, HMMD Herath, WIM from India Michelle Catherine, BSMT Cooray and DADT Srilal placed runner up and received the silver Medal.

In the Consolation finals. Black Knight Black Knight Chess Club consists of Naduni Abeywardana, Wonara Gunatilake, Anuththara Chandrasiri, Roschell Nathasha Askey and Pevinya Pieris beat Kriegspiel Chess Academy team in both rounds 2 ½ – 1 ½ and earned the Bronze Medal. In the first round, Pevinya Pieris and Wonara Gunatilleke scored points for Black knight while SAK Chandrasiri got a draw to score 2 ½. NT Abeywardena lost to Minethma Lasandi Wickraamasinghe. In the 2nd round, Roschell Nathasha Askey and Naduni Abeywardana scored 2 points while Pevinya Pieris got a draw. Anuththara Chandrasiti lost in this round to Saymi Gamage.

Kriegspiel Chess Academy with Minethma Wickramasinghe, Esandi Newansa, Sayumi Gamage and Kaveeshwari De Silva became 4th.

The 2nd CFSL Online Women Team Chess Championships 2022 was conducted by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka from 8th to 12th of January 2022 at Tornelo Platform. The time control was `5 minutes + 10 seconds per each move played.